Joint Tanker Fleet to NATO Countries

Joint Tanker Fleet to NATO Countries 24 May, 2020

The first of the platforms to be provided under the NATO Multinational Multi-Role Tanker and Transport Fleet (MFF) programme will be delivered next month. The NATO Support and Procurement Agency manages the program.

NATO member states Belgium, the Czech Republic, Germany, Luxembourg, Norway and the Netherlands were ordered to supply eight Airbus A330 MRTTSs as part of the program. The first platform will be deployed in June at the main operations base in Eindhoven, Netherlands. Besides Eindhoven as the main base hosting five of the envisioned eight total aircraft, the German city of Cologne is slated to host three.

The six nations share the cost of buying the planes as well as flying hours used for missions. According to a memorandum of understanding governing the aircraft's use, Germany has booked up to 5,500 flying hours per year, followed by the Netherlands (2,000), Belgium (1,000) Luxembourg (200), and Norway and the Czech Republic with 100 each.

The Airbus A330 MRTT can refuel F-16, F-35, Eurofighter, Tornado and Gripen jets, as well as “most of the other” aircraft used by the alliance, including C-17 cargo planes, the NATO statement reads.

Joint Tanker Fleet to NATO Countries

Issue 86