The Montreux Convention Regarding the Regime of the Straits and Kanal İstanbul 24 July, 2016

While the world is focused on the Middle East and the Sykes-Picot Treaty, the Kanal İstanbul Project, which entered into force in previous months, is prepared to bring forward a convention signed 80 years ago: Montreux.

Composed of 29 articles, 4 annexes and one protocol and signed on July 20, 1936 by Turkey, Bulgaria, France, Greece, Japan, the USSR and Yugoslavia, the Montreux Convention entered force on November 9, 1936. Italy joined in 1938 while Japan withdrew from the rights conferred upon this country owing to the peace agreement it concluded in 1951. Montreux replaced the order brought forth by Lausanne Straits Convention of 1923 with a “sui generis” regime of passage. Thus, terms working to the disadvantage of Turkey like demilitarisation of the Turkish Straits and the international Straits Convention were annulled as the Montreux Convention became operational.

Issue 86